• No #1 resource for the global ska community

Album Of The Year 2019 – Public Voting Results

The Results

Thanks everyone for participating in the “Album Of The Year 2019” votings at Reggae Steady Ska. 

Here are the results of the public votings: 

The winner is North East Ska-Jazz Orchestra (Brixton Records). 


  1. “Reggae Now” by The Aggrolites (Pirates Press)
  2. “Encore” by The Specials (Universal Music)

Please have a look at the Top 10 in the sidebar or check the complete results further down. 

Also make sure to take in the results of the jury voting. The jury winner is “Reggae Now” by The Aggrolites followed by The Beat feat. Ranking Roger’s “Public Confidential” and “Encore” by The Specials. We had a great jury with members from across the world. Many wrote wonderful texts about their favourite albums from 2019. Find them all here:


This year we received lots of positive feedback on our “Albums List”, because we no longer tried to capture all releases labeled “ska”, but to find those albums that we vibe with at Reggae Steady Ska. You can find the posting here: 


and discover some real gems. 

Thanks again for your attention.

And now to a great 2020 with lots of fine new music!

TOP 10

1 North East Ska-Jazz Orchestra – same (Brixton Records)
2 The Aggrolites – Reggae Now (Pirates Press)
3 The Specials – Encore (Universal)
4 The Clockmakers – Good News (self)
5 The Loving Paupers – Lines (JumpUp Records)
5 New York Ska Jazz Ensemble – Break Thru (Brixton Records)
7 The Beat – Public Confidential (Dmf Records)
8 Babylove & The Van Dangos – The Golden Cage (self)
8 Gary Marshall – The Awakening (Sunny Bastards)
10 The Prizefighters – Firewalk (Jump Up Records)
10 The Rocksteady Conspiracy – Rough&Sweet (Get On! Records)

What were your three favorite albums from 2019? (3 votes required)
Previous ArticleNext Article
With his Ska band The Braces (1984-1991, 2000-2006) Joachim Uerschels released three albums for Unicorn, Pork Pie and Mad Butcher Records. He lives in Cologne, Germany as a writer and musician. In 2016, he published his solo debut album "Songbook Vol. II" as Joe ScholesJoe Scholes
Send this to a friend