• No #1 resource for the global ska community

Album Of The Year 2019 – Jury Voting Results

Joachim Uerschels

founder of Reggae Steady Ska, singer songwriter at The Braces, Joe Scholes, percussionist at Los Apartamentos

1. The Specials – Encore (Universal Music)
2. Babylove & The Van Dangos – The Golden Cage (self)
3. King Zepha – Northern Sound (Happy People Records)
4. Gary Marshall – The Awakening (Sunny Bastards)
5. King Kong IV – Do The Jerk Or Do The Monkey (self)
6. Prince Fatty – In The Viper’s Shadow (Evergreen Recordings)
7. Tommy Tornado & The Clerks – Back On Track (Soulfire Artists)
8. The Skints – Swimming Lessons (Mr Bongo)
9. The Last Poets – Understanding What Dub Is (Studio Rockers)
10. The Aggrolites – Reggae Now (Pirates Press)

Comments from Joachim Uerschels

The Specials were the band that changed my life when I was 13 years old. So I was really happy that the remaining members were able to produce such a relevant, such a fantastic album with “Encore”. I can’t give enough props to the fourth member Nikolaj Torp Larsen for his masterly production. The timing of the album was perfect, too, for my family. “Encore” was constantly in our car stereo during our summer trip to France. And it made me happy to see my daughters (now 12 and 13) enjoying it and singing along to the tunes. After a while we also started to listen to the first Specials album, and it seemed they even liked that more. I hope for a new generation of ska and 2tone lovers.

Previous ArticleNext Article
With his Ska band The Braces (1984-1991, 2000-2006) Joachim Uerschels released three albums for Unicorn, Pork Pie and Mad Butcher Records. He lives in Cologne, Germany as a writer and musician. In 2016, he published his solo debut album "Songbook Vol. II" as Joe ScholesJoe Scholes
Send this to a friend